Have a Peter Faith in Unemployment Plagues

Have you ever had one of those weeks?  The devil was trying his hardest this week.

It reminds me of Peter’s trial that started in the upper room. After Jesus directly told the disciples that someone in their midst would betray him, they briefly discussed who it was.  But the discussion quickly turned to who would be the greatest in the kingdom, again.  Even after being with Jesus for three years, the disciples still had a problem with self righteousness and pride.

Jesus told them:

“And the Lord said, Simon, Simon, behold, Satan hath desired to have you, that he may sift you as wheat:  But I have prayed for thee, that thy faith fail not: and when thou

art converted, strengthen thy brethren.” Luke 22:31-32

“Satan hath desire to have you..” This is plural.  Satan wanted to sift ALL the disciples, not just Peter.  But God put boundaries around the others and only allowed Satan to sift Peter.  “..That he may sift you as wheat,” is singular, meaning specifically Peter.

I think Peter had the most problem with pride.  When confronted with this, Peter stated that he would follow Jesus anywhere, no matter what.  Pride goes before my fall too.

I have been like Peter, stating to Jesus, when times are good, that I would do anything and go anywhere for him.  But now that I am in the midst of the trial, I am failing him, just like Peter.

Peter betrayed Jesus three times.  I have been so close to betraying Jesus, by having such great doubts of his goodness.  All during this unemployment, I have continued to go to church and do missions, witnessing every chance I can get.  But it has been hollow, just going through the motions.

How do I witness when nothing seemed good, when I really didn’t believe it myself?

Even verse 32 didn’t bring me much comfort.  Knowing that Jesus is always in heaven interceding for me brought me little comfort.  During this long bout with unemployment, it feels like no one, including Jesus, is interceding for me or even cares.  I feel sure that Peter felt the same way, even though Jesus told him that he was praying for Peter, Peter didn’t feel it.   When trials come, don’t we want to “eat, drink and be merry for tomorrow we die?” (Isaiah 22:13)

But, no matter how life is treating me at the moment, I have to decide (sometimes daily) that God is good and never changes.  I know this because the Bible says so and the Bible is the only truth.  In Malachi 3:6 “For I am the Lord, I change not…” and neither does His word. There are some things that you have to have faith in, no matter what life is throwing at you, no matter that you can’t see the end.

When I see that state workers are busy – processing federal worker’s unemployment claims and how unemployment plagues young people around the world, not just here, I have to step back and go to the Word – the ONLY truth.

Micah 7:8 “Rejoice not against me, O mine enemy: when I fall, I shall arise; when I sit in darkness, the Lord shall be a LIGHT unto me.” God’s Word will not pass away. Truth always stands. God does not change.  Make the decision to trust the Bible.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=5&cad=rja&sqi=2&ved=0CFkQqQIwBA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.baltimoresun.com%2Fnews%2Fmaryland%2Fpolitics%2Fblog%2Fbs-md-federal-unemployment-20131007%2C0%2C210409.story&ei=dHhVUuf7Nceo4AP3woHYAw&usg=AFQjCNGFCg-7q1RDSszNk1oCHjcAAVbzpA&sig2=lNiWRShR8ecSadBLnE1aYQ&bvm=bv.53760139,d.dmg

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=6&cad=rja&sqi=2&ved=0CFsQqQIwBQ&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.huffingtonpost.com%2F2013%2F10%2F07%2Fyouth-unemployment-worldwide-joblessness_n_4019601.html&ei=dHhVUuf7Nceo4AP3woHYAw&usg=AFQjCNG_1_L6O072pK057sjpDLsioA5xeg&sig2=EBspLonL9HJM4JRsvPOd4Q&bvm=bv.53760139,d.dmg

Leave a comment