Doubt and Long Term Unemployment

Doubts Happen Even to the Strongest Believers

“There are some times in our lives when we can’t seem to see God’s will for us clearly and what we thought would have happened by now, just isn’t so. WHEN THE DOUBTS COME is an encouraging message from Pastor Jeff Schreve that offers real hope and a weapon to battle those doubts so that you can continue walking confidently with the Lord.”  From the web site FromHisHeart.Org

I don’t think I have ever heard of Pastor Jeff Schreve or his TV ministry until this morning.  His message this morning really touched a chord with me.  I began to doubt when things don’t go the way I think it should.  What he calls ME-ology instead of THE-ology.  I love that.

Watch this mornings’ show here:

When the Doubts Come – From His Heart Ministries

I know that during my six months of unemployment, with no real job in sight, I have had doubts.  My doubts really started a number of years ago when I experienced spiritual abuse at our small church along with the death of both of my parents.  I lost most of my close friends and my spiritual anchors.  So I might have been really ripe for major doubts.

John the Baptist had major doubts too.  He was the greatest prophet, why would he of all people have doubts?  Simply, he was put in jail.  After being in prison for almost a year, the outdoor loving Baptiser was confined to a dungeon cell, probably not even able to see the sun.  So I shouldn’t feel alone when experiencing doubts – I just don’t need to stay in doubt.  John sent to Jesus for encouragement.

I thought I was through with doubts when I thought I hit rock bottom when recovering from the spiritual abuse.  I really doubted if God was there and why if God was for me, why did it seemed like He was against me?

I came full circle, started forgiving the people for all past offenses and I even forgave God for allowing it to happen.  Even though forgiving God is a strange thought, the process needs to happen to go forward with healing.

Then unemployment happened.  In past unemployment, God always delivered with a good job right before unemployment ran out.  I never was without insurance.  God was always good.  But, I already felt like this time was going to be different.

How am I supposed to be a witness for God, when I felt like God was against me?  How am I supposed to not doubt not knowing where the money will come from?

Steps of Doubt

Understand what causes doubt

  • When we experience long trials
  • When we can’t make a sense of the issues – that there is an ultimate plan
  • When we put our feelings before our faith – we don’t feel like God loves us

Come to God with our doubts

  • Come to God reverently
  • Come to God honestly
  • Come to Him expectantly – we need to expect that He will answer

Remember what we have seen and heard

  • Remember our past deliverances  – begin writing down every deliverance and blessing God has done for you.  When doubts arise, start reading.  As soon as I realize a God-deliverance or blessing, I write in on a slip of paper to put in our blessing jar.  When doubts come, pull out the jar and read all that God has done for YOU.
  • Remember the great deliverances from the Bible – read of David and Goliath, of the Red Sea, or of Abraham’s promised child.  If you read it as truth, it will renew your faith.

I hope this helps.  Unemployment is one of the hardest things I have ever done, including the deaths of both my parents.  But don’t doubt and lose hope!

Leave a comment