Unemployment Hopelessness

Hope While Feeling Hopelessness

This week I ran into a pride killing situation.  We finally decided that we needed help with our light bill and maybe with the groceries.

Before my unemployment, we depended on our money so much more than I really realized.  We depended on money to feed us, to let us live comfortably, to  allow us to help others.  We just took the blessing of money for granted, until it was ripped away.

So, just making the decision to get help with some of the bills was a huge humbling experience.  But waiting in the little office, just to be told to go home, we will call you was depressing.  I really wanted the experience to be over with and a resolution to be right around the corner.  Then the call never came.  The workers never answer the phone either, everything goes to voice mail.

It feels so unfair that all this is happening to us; That we have to fight at every step with a government that is determined to take every thing that we have worked for.

I didn’t even feel up to going to the DSS office to apply for food stamps in person, but I did do the online form.  It promptly told me NO.

Sometimes you have to lose everything to gain Everything.

Real Hope

The unemployment situation is totally out of our control, so we depend on God.  We go to Him for leading, and continue to satisfy our needs.

Even though I see the many things that we have to sell now to make payments and I tear up greiving, I am grateful for what we have.

I try to find ways to help others that don’t revolve around money.  Before, I would always, first,  give money instead actually doing anything.  Now I find real pleasure in finding different ways to be cups of cold water to people who are thristing for the love of God.

People who are unemployed can help their attitude by:

  • finding ways to help other – helping at a retirement home, helping at a homeless shelter,
  • don’t isolate yourself – get involved with people
  • prayer – God changes us in our quiet times
  • get into a real good Bible Study on Job for example.  Some Bible Studies won’t feel like it applies to your situation right now, but knowledge and wisdom always help
  • Don’t dewell on sites about unemploment – reading the comments only lead to more depression. Focus on sites that encourage and lift up your spirits and God.

Don’t give up!!  God is always good and He is helping even though it doesn’t look like He is.

Leave a comment